Underage North Carolina driver accused of DWI after speeding stop
The North Carolina Highway Patrol says that a 20-year-old woman was pulled over for speeding on Interstate 85 Tuesday morning. The trooper says the young woman was clocked at 97 mph, leading to the traffic stop. Unfortunately for the young woman, a speeding offense is not the accusation in the aftermath of the traffic stop.
The Highway Patrol says that the 20-year-old had been drinking before getting behind the wheel. In North Carolina, underage drinking and underage DUI laws can be strict, as the state follows a zero-tolerance policy for underage drinking.
Generally, any measurable amount of alcohol is sufficient for the state to seek underage alcohol charges against a young adult under the age of 21. It is also important to note, however, that DWI charges can also be brought against an underage driver who is alleged to have consumed alcohol.
The legal limit for driving in North Carolina is 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration. At that level, state law presumes impairment for drivers of any age. The young woman pulled over early Tuesday morning on I-85 reportedly blew a 0.14 percent BAC on an Intoxilyzer machine. The young woman now faces DWI charges as a result of the allegations.
The 20-year-old Gastonia woman was booked into jail before being released on a 0 unsecured bond after her DWI arrest. DWI charges can expose a person to direct and indirect consequences. A conviction becomes a part of a driver’s permanent criminal record. Like any criminal offense, a person accused of DWI has the right to defend against the state’s allegations in court.
Source: Gaston Gazette, “Trooper: Underage drinker driving drunk at 97 mph,” May 22, 2012