Law enforcement claims a North Carolina first-grade teacher admitted to having been texting while driving after a car accident last week. Police say the woman ran into a van that was pulling into a parking lot early Friday morning in Wilmington.
A North Carolina Highway Patrol trooper says that during the accident investigation the woman had a bloody lip from the accident, but also says she was slurring her speech and other statements that defense attorneys typically read in arrest reports after someone is accused of driving while impaired in North Carolina.
Law enforcement says the woman smelled strongly of alcohol after the crash. Apparently the woman submitted an implied consent breath sample after the crash. The North Carolina Highway Patrol alleges the first-grade teacher blew readings of 0.13 and 0.12 percent blood alcohol concentration after the accident.
Although the prosecutor has the burden of proof in any criminal case, the law presumes impairment in DWI cases when there is evidence of a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or more for any driver who is age 21 or more. For individuals under the age of 21, any evidence of alcohol in a driver’s system is sufficient for prosecutors to bring underage DWI charges in the state.
The 36-year-old woman was reportedly booked into the New Hanover County Jail around 4:00 Friday morning on suspicion of DWI. She is scheduled to appear in court on the DWI charges Feb. 14.
It is important to note that anyone charged with DWI has the right to defend against the charges in court.
Source: WWAY News Channel 3, “FIRST ON 3: Teacher admitted texting, blew 0.13 after school-night crash,” Cliff Pyron, Dec. 21, 2011