Greenville, North Carolina area residents may be aware that the drinking age in North Carolina is 21. When a person under the legal drinking age allegedly drives with any evidence of alcohol in his or her system in North Carolina, state laws allow prosecutors to bring underage drinking and driving charges. Notably, an officer’s alleged observations during a traffic stop of a driver that lead the officer to believe that the person has consumed alcohol may be sufficient for an underage drinking and driving charge to arise.
Underage driving under the influence charges need not involve an alcohol test showing that a under 21-year-old driver is above the general legal limit to drive—which is set at 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration in North Carolina. That type of evidence may surely give rise to a full-fledged DWI charge. An underage DUI charge, however, can bring harsh consequences for a young driver.
Police accuse an East Carolina University student of underage drinking and driving after authorities responded to a report of a traffic accident Tuesday morning at the intersection of Greenville Boulevard and 10th Street, according to WITN. Authorities claim that the ECU student ran his car into the rear of a pickup truck at the Greenville intersection. Authorities say that the driver of the pickup suffered minor injuries in the rear-end crash. He was taken to Vidant Medical Center.
Meanwhile, the ECU student was processed on suspicion of drinking and driving as an underage DUI offense. He also faces a traffic violation for allegedly failing to reduce speed.
Alcohol-related offenses, including underage drunk driving, can leave a permanent scar on a student’s permanent criminal record in North Carolina. Young drivers accused of underage DUI or other DWI charges should consider seeking the assistance of legal counsel to learn what defenses or options may be available in individual cases.
Source: WITN, “NEW INFO: Early Morning Wreck at 10th And Greenville Boulevard,” June 11, 2013