We have discussed issues involving allegations of underage drinking and driving on several occasions. Generally, North Carolina law says that underage drinking is prohibited in general. When it comes to driving, a person may be charged with an underage DUI offense based upon any evidence of alcohol in his or her system.
But the existence of the zero tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving does not mean that a person under the age of 21 cannot be accused of driving while impaired charges. The legal limit of 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration applies to underage drivers as well.
Similarly, if law enforcement believes there is enough evidence of impairment, prosecutors may seek DWI charges based upon the evidence of impairment.
A Greenville, North Carolina teenager is accused of DWI after a car accident was reported Thursday Evening in Lenoir County, North Carolina. Troopers claim that the Greenville teen lost control of the Dodge Challenger he was driving on Rouse Road in Kinston, North Carolina around 7:00 Thursday evening. The car reportedly went through the ditch, struck a tree and crashed into a house.
Nobody was in the home at the time of the wreck. The 18-year-old driver and his 18-year-old passenger form Dover, North Carolina were not injured. Authorities estimate that the accident caused ,000 damage to the home.
The Greenville, North Carolina teen is charged with DWI and reckless driving related to the allegations. It is not clear what evidence led troopers to suspect the young man was impaired at the time of the accident.
Source: WBTW, “NC teen crashes car into house, faces DWI charge, police say,” May 3, 2013