A North Carolina woman is facing serious charges of driving while impaired and underage DWI after a fatal traffic accident that police say she was involved in, just one day before her 21st birthday. The underage DUI charge is alleged under the zero tolerance policy that North Carolina recognizes for individuals who are under the age of 21.
Sources indicate that the woman submitted a blood sample after the crash. Toxicology tests have not yet been released on that blood test. However, under North Carolina law, any evidence of alcohol consumption can lead to underage DWI/DUI charges against a driver who is under the age of 21 in the state. For people age 21 or older, actual evidence of impairment, which can be shown by a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or more, is required to support a traditional DWI charge in North Carolina.
The latest charges arose after a traffic accident early Sunday morning in Raleigh. Police say the 20-year-old woman was driving a Jeep SUV that collided with a Hyundai, driven by a 32-year-old man. The man died at the hospital as a result of injuries sustained in the collision, according to police.
Although there is no blood test results available at this time, police claim the 20-year-old woman admitted to having consumed one mixed-drink before driving. The woman was released on a promise to appear in court on the DWI and underage DUI charges. She is scheduled to appear in Wake County District Court Feb. 15.
Source: News Observer, “Raleigh woman charged in fatal wreck,” Dec. 19, 2011