North Carolina 18-year-old arrested for alleged second DWI offense
Facing charges for driving while impaired in North Carolina can be frustrating at any age. The state treats DWI offenses harshly, and charges can very easily impact a driver’s privilege to drive. People under the age of 21 generally can face a different standard when it comes to alcohol consumption and driving a motor vehicle in North Carolina.
The state has a zero tolerance policy toward underage drinking and driving. That means that any measurable amount of alcohol may serve to support underage DUI charges under North Carolina law. However, the state can also pursue full DWI charges against an underage driver based upon an alcohol test reading of 0.08 percent or greater. Recently, an underage driver has arrested for her second DWI at the age of 18-year-sold.
Deputies in Davidson County claim that an 18-year-old driver was seen crossing over the center line while driving around 2:00 a.m. Sunday. The deputies pulled over the teenager, and a check of her driver’s license reportedly revealed that the license had been suspended after a previous DWI offense.
The young woman not only faces new North Carolina DWI charges, but was also arrested on suspicion of driving with a suspended or revoked provisional license, having an open container, under possession of alcohol and driving left of center. The teenager was hauled to the police station and later released into the custody of her stepmother after the most recent North Carolina DWI arrest.
A report from WFMY News does not indicate what the teenager’s blood alcohol level allegedly might have been on the night of the DWI arrest. It is also not clear if the arrest involved allegations of DWI or underage drinking and driving.
Source: WFMY News 2, “18 Year-Old Gets 2nd DWI, Charged With Other Traffic Violations,” June 25, 2012